top of page

I made some BEAR BALM

Using nature made gifts to create a product I feel really good about- B B B B B Bear Balm is my new fave.

Way back in March of 2017 I was doing a lot of reading on infusions, and tinctures. Ways to use plants and herbs for healthy benefits. Both internal and externally. I threw a lot of questions at myself to find out what the difference was between the two previously mentioned. What plants can be used for what purposes and how? After answering all of these questions for myself it was time to make it happen.

I started with making an infusion which I deemed more appropriate for balm (salve) than a tincture. At that time I had a stash of Lavender buds that I had grown in the garden and dried out, so I combined my rendered bear oil and lavender buds into a small mason jar until it was nearly full. Leaving jus

t enough space to tilt, or shake the goop around every time I walked past it for 11 months.

The way infusions work is that you are blending or fusing two (or more) separate things into one. In this case I wanted the bear oil to take on the properties of the lavender buds. The smell of lavender versus the smell of bear. The properties lavender has to soothe- heal- and promote calmness needed to overtake the plain Jane slightly gamy smell and feel of the bear oil. Which it did in 11 months!

So yeah after that much time went by, I decided it was time to do something about it finally. An employer keeps bees and donated fresh raw beeswax to me, which I began to grate and melt down in a double boiler style pan over my Meal-Master Wood Cook Stove. Keep the fire burning as consistent as possible so the heat would remain controlled throughout the process.

In the meantime, I strained the lavender buds from the oil, and began to slowly stir the oil into the melted beeswax. Adding more oils to get the texture of the balm just right. I think I started with too much beeswax the first time, so I also added some other good stuff- a little organic coconut oil, pure vitamin E oil, and essential oils to add to the awesome lavender scent, until I felt it was just right!

I stirred until everything was mixed perfectly without clumps or anything strange floating in it, and then poured off into containers to cool at room temp.

For the past couple days I have been using the new balm on my lips- no chapping. On a dry cracked spot on my finger- healing quickly and no longer painful. My boyfriend uses it on a persistent Poison Oak Itch- it seems to help reduce the urge to scratch. Also a good friend used it on a scar from having stitches in his finger- he claims that the car is fading and he has a better range of movement in the finger/ skin now.

I believe there are many benefits to using a natural balm like this- some including, dry or cracked, chapped skin or lips. Minor sunburns, wind burn, scratches, scrapes or abrasions, aid in skin repair and re-moisturizing, revitalizing youth and reducing appearance of scar tissue. One could say it’s a basic first aid salve go to for a variety of skin issues. Eczema included.

I had a limited supply with the first batch being so small for experimental purposes and have had a great interest in folks wishing to try it for themselves. So I’ll give it all away and follow up with their comments and personal testimonies in a future blog.

I like it, I think you will too…..

(Note: It is illegal in the state of Virginia to buy or sell any part of a bear. That is why I have to give it away.)

bottom of page