top of page

First Love, and First Kiss


A 30 day writing challenge- Day 3

Since todays writing challenge topic is about firsts, please understand this first- I am not an emotionally descriptive person. I don’t feel like writing out a mushy love story starring yours truly because it’s just not that exciting. Neither was the fella that I had that first kiss with.

There are so many first’s in life that to me are far more important than love, and smoochies. Take for example, my children’s first, words, first steps, first loose tooth, first day of school, and so on. In fact my children are my First true loves. Each one was love at first sight. The moment their big baby eyes opened and stared into mine was knowing exactly what true love was.

But first, some of the other firsts…

First hunting trip, first time skinning a deer that was my first shot.First time experiencing snow on the mountain top when the valley below was still 70 degrees. First time finding natures treasures on first times through new areas of forest. First time making soap, first time churning butter, first time rendering bear fat, and cooking with cast iron pans on a wood cook stove. First time I helped make a smoker from a toolbox, and first time I performed a surgery on a chicken.

First time I climbed the mountain, and stood on the very edge with nothing but the wind holding me there. First time I saw the beach, and first time I watched my children see the beach. First trip to Maine, Texas, Florida and Ohio. First quilt I started and finished. First car….

First person to break my heart, and the first person to try to put it back together- may have been the first person I thought was true love…..

First time I learned how to taxidermy a bear, or process a chicken. First time I learned how to cook that chicken. First time I planted a garden, and first time I harvested the produce. First time I broke a bone, or needed stitches for something silly.

The taste of my first beer…

The First time I flew...

 

BY Erin St Clair Day 3

My first kiss... (lets just completely ignore the little smooch on my porch by my neighbors cousin when I was five, because those don't count right?) My first kiss, like a lot of others first kiss, happened when I was in middle school. It was a busy, hurried bus exchange when my boyfriend (of one whole week) grabbed me and kissed me. I remember thinking it was pretty terrific, (until he dumped me about 3 days later for some other girl) but looking back, it was pretty unremarkable as far as kisses go, and if you saw the guy today... whew!! I dodged a big ass bullet!!

My first love is a little harder to describe. Love isn't something that happens to us, it is something that we do, an action that requires perseverance and dedication, and should be reciprocated (in my opinion) in order to truly be real, hearts and flowers, put a ring on it love.

I have given love many times to people who didn't deserve it. In fact, I almost wrote about my children, and my love for them because truly, that is the most powerful love I've ever known... but I remembered something else. I remembered all of those people who received love from me, and left me empty. I went through a pretty dark couple of years, trying to understand why I wasn't getting back the same love I was giving. It took me almost five years to figure out how to love myself. I realized that I didn't need anyone else to love me, in order to validate myself. Loving myself, was enough! It is worth mentioning that I have found love. He isn't my first love, but I'm hopeful he will be my last. I honestly don't think I could say that, if I hadn't taken the time I did to work on self love. People don't do that enough. Love yourself folks!! You are enough!

It is worth mentioning that I have found love. He isn't my first love, but I'm hopeful he will be my last. I honestly don't think I could say that, if I hadn't taken the time I did to work on self love. People don't do that enough. Love yourself folks!! You are enough!

bottom of page